Drumming Improves Quality of Life in Many Ways | Rose Caiola

I found that drumming tapped into the beat of my heart; it reminded me of hearing my child’s heartbeat while in my womb. The beat of the drum slowly became hypnotic, my body began to move rhythmically along with it, and within moments I was transported to another place in time. It was peaceful, calming.

Drumming Improves Quality of Life in Many Ways | Rose Caiola

Sayer Ji, Founder of GreenMedInfo.com, wrote an interesting blog called “6 Evidence-Based Health Benefits of Drumming.” It makes perfect sense that through ancient rhythms we are transported to a time before the written word–perhaps even to a time before the spoken word was fully developed.

Drumming was used to generate cohesiveness and connection in a time when the needs of the tribe were more important than the needs of the individual. Ji asserts that drumming brings us to a time when “… a direct and simultaneous experience of deep transcendence and immanence [Divine presence and the connection to this presence] was not an extraordinary, rare occurrence as it is today.”

Meditation allows me to experience that kind of transcendence. By the end of my retreat I was fortunate enough to experience first hand how powerful it is to have a transcendental experience with drumming in a community.[1]

READ MORE via > Drumming Improves Quality of Life in Many Ways | Rose Caiola.

 

Leave a Reply

